Apples to Apples

It was 8 o’clock on a Tuesday night and I had an hour until it was time to hunker down and watch tv. My sister took a trip to the cider mill and brought over 2 big bags of juicy green apples to my house. I love apples, I really do, but I knew there was no way I could eat all of them without some  going bad first.

IMG_2393

 IMG_2376

In the spirit of not wasting any food and celebrating fall, I decided to make an apple crisp. And not just any apple crisp. The one my grandma used to bake and bring to Thanksgiving or any event, it didn’t matter as long as she made it. I pulled out her recipe book she gave my mom, wiped off the dust from the front cover and found her apple crisp recipe.  I will confess that the recipe my grandma gave my mom is from a cookbook/magazine.

IMG_2372

IMG_2375

IMG_2377

I followed the recipe and this is how it turned out. The apples were cooked to perfection. Cutting them in thin slices took the most time but it was worth it. I did find that the amount of nutmeg the recipe called for was too much for my taste. It overpowered the other flavors. I would go a little lighter on it if you don’t absolutely love nutmeg.

IMG_2391

IMG_2390

My mom had the idea to add pecans and caramel to the apple crisp recipe, so we immediately drove to the store and bought Sanders caramel. We didn’t realize that their caramel has butterscotch in it. My mom thought we should’ve bought classic caramel instead. That didn’t stop me from eating the Sanders caramel with a spoon.

IMG_2388

IMG_2364

My sous chef

IMG_2366

IMG_2365

IMG_2371

IMG_2367

IMG_2392

IMG_2383

IMG_2382

The cinnamon mixed with the apples, sugar, and nutmeg created this heavenly smell that wafted throughout our entire house and made it really feel like fall.  I ended up making two apple crisps, one with a graham cracker crust and another with a traditional pie crust. Who knew I had four pre-made pie crusts in the freezer?

Next time, I’m buying  vanilla ice cream to scoop over a piece of warm apple crisp and drizzle it with caramel. The hot and cold combination is one my all time favorites.

IMG_2378

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Apples to Apples

Leave a Reply

