Style Steps: Winter Edition

In honor of the first day of winter, here are some of my favorite winter outfits that I turn to time and time again throughout the season.

1. My Winter Staples:

I wake up every morning with the intention of wearing something different hoping that I’ll look like I just stepped out of my Pinterest page.

Instead I put on my favorite old jeans, a sweater, and boots. They’re winter must-haves for me along with a puffy coat (the longer the better).

I used to feel like I was wearing a sleeping bag for a coat but now I can’t live without my long puffy coat because it blocks the wind and keeps my legs warm too. A hat, scarf, and gloves are all necessary on a wintry day.

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 7.56.14 PM

Gloves, sweater, beanie, boots, leg warmers, jeans, scarf, coat.

2.  Grown up Plaid:

Plaid made a huge comeback this year with the resurgence of 90’s grunge and I don’t hate it.

I actually kind of, sort of, love it. Plaid skirts, plaid scarves, plaid hats, plaid shirts. Gimme!

This is my version of a grown up school girl. I’ll pair a skirt with thick tights or even two pairs and leg warmers in the winter. Sometimes you just don’t want to wear jeans.

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 8.36.17 PM

Sweater, stud earrings, rings, tights, skirt, boots, bow.

3. Going Out:

Once the temperature drops, one of the last the last things I want to do is put on weather inappropriate clothing and go out into the snow.

I go into hibernation mode and don’t want to come out of my house.

I saw this jumpsuit today and thought it would make a great going out outfit, especially for the winter months, because your legs are still covered and you’re wearing something other than skinny jeans, heels, and a tank top (i.e. unofficial night out uniform).

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 9.12.06 PM

Jumpsuit, necklace, bracelet, clutch, booties, crossbody bag.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

