A few days before Christmas something starts to happen to me. I turn into a crazy person who spends all of her time researching cookie recipes, on the baking aisle at the grocery store, or in my kitchen.

IMG_3097

That’s what I did on the 22nd, 23rd, and most of the 24th.

It dawned on me this year that I don’t have to do things I don’t want to do. That’s true for most things but not all. Hello, dishes. I really don’t like baking sugar cookies. They’re too time consuming and I’m horrible at rolling out the dough and making sure the cookies don’t rip in the process. It usually leaves me frustrated with sore feet. This year, we made a smaller batch of cookies so there were fewer to decorate. I did my best to enjoy the process.

IMG_3098

IMG_3099

IMG_3100

I did learn that dipping your cookie cutter in flour makes the dough come out easier.

IMG_3101

IMG_3102

IMG_3103

IMG_3104

IMG_3105

For me, making sugar cookies always involves a huge mess of flour everywhere.

IMG_3106

IMG_3107

IMG_3108

IMG_3109

IMG_3110

IMG_3111

IMG_3112

These are cookie butter cookies I made with a recipe from Averiecooks.com. If you haven’t tried cookie butter, you should. Be aware that you’ll probably eat the whole jar in less than two days.

IMG_3113

IMG_3114

The cookie butter cookie dough has a weird texture but they taste good.

IMG_3133

IMG_3138

Our dog really likes cookies…

IMG_3140

Then we made frosting and starting decorating and eating the “broken” cookies.

IMG_3148

I hope you had a merry Christmas!

What cookies do you make during the holiday season? Let me know. I’m always looking for new recipes.

Cookie Monster

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

