New Year, New You

When did Forever 21 step up their game on their workout clothes?

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.19.59 PM

I’m one of those people who would rather spend money on jeans, dresses, or sweaters. Anything but my workout clothes. Those are usually old t-shirts from high school that have mystery stains and holes in the armpits.

I’m just not willing to spend tons of money on expensive workout clothes. It’s just not going to happen. Until now.

I looked through Forever21’s selection of activewear and wow. I want one of everything in every color.

The clothes come in fun colors and there’s stuff that doesn’t even resemble workout clothes. You’ll be the most stylish person at the gym in these clothes and you’ll probably feel better too.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.20.21 PM

From the front, a run of the mill sports bra.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.19.59 PM

From the back, much cooler sports bra.

It might even give you that extra push to get up and go to the gym.

There are a few pieces that made me go, “What? Who would wear that to work out in?” but the majority of the clothes are awesome.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.37.31 PM

This doesn’t say ‘activewear’ to me.

Not necessarily a workout shirt either. Front.

Not necessarily a workout shirt either. Front.

Back.

Back.

This is supposed to be a yoga shirt. Perfect to go from class to the yoga studio.

This is supposed to be a yoga shirt. Perfect to go from class to the yoga studio.

There are shorts, capris, pants, long sleeve shirts, short sleeve shirts, tank tops…I could go on. Why I like their selection so much is that there are little details in almost every item that makes them more stylish. Like the mesh panels on this top.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.21.03 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.21.27 PM

This comes in three different colors.

Or the color blocking on this tank top.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.47.55 PM

Cutout Mesh Workout Tank. $17.80. Front.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.47.46 PM

Back.

Their long sleeve shirts have mesh cut outs and thumb holes. Seemingly small things that make the difference.

Pants are another, slightly painful, story.

I’ve been searching for work out pants that aren’t see through for at least six months.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.41.05 PMI’ve looked everywhere and I still can’t find any. I’ve been wearing leggings underneath my workout pants ever since I went for a run on campus and was getting lots of stares.

It wasn’t until I was at the end of my run and a mile away from my house that it occurred to me what everyone was staring at; my butt.

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.45.40 PM

I pulled my shirt down as far as I could, hoping that it would cover my butt and ran home SO fast. Since then, I’ve been apprehensive of every pair of workout pants.

What sealed the deal for me on the Forever21 workout pants was that one of the reviewers specifically said that their capris weren’t see through. They even said it in all caps. I read that and then added 3 pairs to my shopping cart.

I’m still apprehensive about the pants because the quality of Forever21’s clothing isn’t the best but the price is right.

If you know where I can find affordable workout pants that aren’t see through, PLEASE tell me. I don’t want to moon people at the gym.

Happy New Year!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

