Kids and Kangaroos

I spent my Saturday at the one place that always makes me feel like a kid again…the zoo!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had to get up at 7 am on the weekend, which didn’t go over so well at first. To kill time before my sister got to the zoo, my parents and I went to the butterfly house. It’s one of my favorite exhibits. After meeting one of the zoo volunteers who was quick to show us her photos of zoo highlights we ventured into the butterfly house.

The butterflies were fun to see but the plants caught my eye. I felt like I was on a tropical vacation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sun pours in through the dome ceiling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We spent our time looking up in the trees for birds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to dig out my old digital camera that’s been collecting dust. My phone’s camera is better than my digital camera. Time for an upgrade!

When the three of us walked out of the butterfly house, we were by one very cute, very tiny zoo-goer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While we said hi to the fish, someone was making a new friend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Then came the Reptile House. Snakes, alligators, lizards, oh my!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

My digital camera doesn’t do well with glass. Any suggestions?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

One new feature at the zoo that I hadn’t seen is a walk through of the kangaroo habitat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I was hoping that they’d be up and active but they were all enjoying the shade and taking a nap. It made for an uneventful walk but it was invigorating to be so close to the animals.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was also a pretty garden. Must be for the kangaroos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Then we saw the polar bears. By far one of the most popular attractions at the zoo. The tunnel was cramped and crowded but still fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

None of them were swimming. They were cooling off in the shade and letting the seals get all of the attention.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was hard for everyone to leave the air conditioning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look, it’s a seal with no head! Or one that’s peaking his head out of the water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

More of my zoo adventures will be up tomorrow!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

