The D.I.A. and Kate Moss

IMG_4334

While flipping through the pages of Vogue a few months ago, I read an article about fashion photographer Bruce Weber’s upcoming exhibit featuring Detroit.

IMG_4368

Two weeks ago (sorry I’m so behind on posting) I went downtown to the Detroit Institute of Arts.

I’ve spent many Friday nights at the DIA roaming the halls and watching art students sketch paintings before my friend and I decorated pumpkins or venetian masks.

IMG_4365

After walking up the marble steps through the arched doors you see high ceilings with an intricately designed ceiling. Everyone can’t help but look at the ceiling for a few minutes.

IMG_4364

After gawking at the architecture of the building itself and not so much the art in the first room, we went to the next room where more events are held. On both sides of the room there is a mural of Detroit auto workers.

IMG_4341

This room also has a glass ceiling so the sun shines through.

Now it was time to see the art.

IMG_4361

Picasso self portrait.

It took us a few wrong turns and two museum docents to find Picasso’s work.  We were suffering from a blue period (see what I did there?) and left in search of other art.

IMG_4353

IMG_4354

 

What amazes me is that you can get inches away from paintings.

IMG_4357

You can see every detail, every stroke.

Took a detour on my way to the @condenast #bruceweber exhibit and saw this #vanGogh.

A post shared by Mandilyn Kerr (@mandilynkerr) on

 

IMG_4355

IMG_4352

Stain glass from a Frank Lloyd Wright house

We finally made it to the Bruce Weber exhibit.

IMG_4349

IMG_4348

IMG_4347

 

I was shocked to see so many photos of Kate Moss.

IMG_4345

IMG_4342

I took a few pictures with my phone before someone told me that we weren’t allowed to take any pictures. I stuffed my phone into my purse and tried to take a mental picture of every picture.

 

What did you think of the Bruce Weber exhibit?

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

